My offending left foot

Is not being so offensive…..shhhh…..keep it a secret as every time I get the littlest bit of hope I return to pain, limping, and not being able to run. So quickly about the foot/ankle. I ran a marathon last June and I’ve barely been able to run since due to plantar fasciitis, tendonosis in my peroneal tendons (as well as a probable old split tear in the brevis tendon), and the newest is a painful pinching, on and off, at the front lateral portion of my ankle. That last bit makes walking impossible when it is occurring, let alone running.

I have had 4 months of PT, an orthopedic surgeon tell me I’d most likely need surgery, and custom orthotics made. I can get everything in my ankle and foot calmed if I do not run. Each time I work on bringing back running, even for 3-6 minutes the PF starts hurting. I have learned that the plantar tendon inflaming sets off the peroneal tendon, the peroneal tendon going off sets off the plantar tendon.

I have done 2 new things, both of which just felt right (not suggested by doc): 1st I thought I needed a cream to help with inflammation and I actually found one (why didn’t the doc tell me about this!) it’s called Penetrex. I use it for my peroneal tendon 2 -3 times a day. 2nd I knew I needed more support, soft support like a sleeve, for my ankle to keep the front from sliding an pinching and the peroneal is supported….in comes the Yorkberg  compression foot sleeve. This seems to have wiped out my PF pain! The peroneal is still a little whiny here and there, but nothing more than a nuisance. My ankle is no longer pinching in the front either.

Today I took another step up in running recovery and did 8 x 2 minutes with a 4 minute walk between and I have no residual pain…..didn’t have any last run either. I couldn’t remember this afternoon if I ran this morning, because my foot felt too good! Freak me out. I will not get overly confident or overly hopeful; I’ve had too many failing attempts to run this past year. So I’ll just say….we’ll see/

(but I really hope I get to run consistently again…..my soul is struggling!)

On the Grace front:

She is a great hiker….IMG_0393 (1).JPG

She is adorable:IMG_0453.JPG

AND she has horrid separation anxiety….or just really loves shredding heavy duty rugs 😕

IMG_0458.JPG

2 thoughts on “My offending left foot

  1. I’m sorry about your injury. Have you tried AIS (active isolated stretching) therapy? I’m lucky to have a husband who’s a massage therapist and specializes in this type of sports massage. See if there’s a good therapist in your area. I’d also do lots of strengthening on that ankle, foot and calves before running much.
    The puppy is really cute! Hope you feel better soon! 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

