Vacation quandary

I’m heading to San Francisco for 5 days with my sister and brother in law…. Not the quandary. I love running on vacation, in different cities and forests alike. It’s a beautiful way to be connected to where I am.
Enter quandary:
This past Sunday, a quarter of a mile into my run, my ankle freaked out.  Different area as it was across the front, feeling like there was an impingement and it was painful. I’ve had it happen in the past but only for minutes, shake it out and move on. This required careful walking to get back to the car, with breaks…. Hmm, thought, after I would sit down it would do better when I got back up,  so maybe an odd jam at the bottom of the tibia?
Anyway that wasn’t my point. It was not happy the rest of the day, but I figure I pinched something and so it’s going to take a day to calm down. The next day I only had a few odd moments of instability when I would turn on my feet. Yesterday the offending foot was fabulous, so far today it’s good. Now the brain is back and forth, should I run in SF? Yes? No? Yes. No. Yes? No.
I finally decided I’d take the rest of the week off of running to make sure I didn’t push an injury, and not take my gear to SF.

image

Yea, right.
I feel fine. I’m running the waterfront.
I feel more complete having my gear with me. 😊

4 thoughts on “Vacation quandary

  1. If you’re going to run, don’t stress it. You didn’t mention where in SF you’ll be, but the Chrissy Field area will be perfect for you (its along the bay with views of Alcatraz). If you’re near the bay, try to make it to the Bayshore Trail; that’s usually where I run (south of the SF airport). Both areas are flat and perfect for easy runs. If you’re walking in the city, you’ll be getting quite the workout, no sense stressing your ankle (any more than necessary). Try to make it to Land’s End National Park (in the city, along the Pacific/bay entrance). Where are you staying?

    Like

  2. Maybe do intervals to test it out and keep it easier on the ankle. Whenever my old IT band injury acts up, I find 5 minute run/walk intervals really refreshing both mentally and physically. Best wishes, and post some photos from San Francisco!

    Like

Leave a Reply

