Recovery and switch to WordPress

Well I’m up to 3 x 8 minutes with a 2 minute walk = 30 minutes. I’m keeping it at every other day as the offending foot  is a bit pissy still and seems to need the recovery day. I’m finding it curious that my heel doesn’t hurt for approximately 4 or 5 hours post run? Then it will be a bit bothersome, in that I get hyper focused on it and will it be the end of my running, for 4 or 5 hours.

I might start this new blog with a brief explanation: I’m shifting over to WordPress from Tumblr due to their loss of replies/comments. I have a great running community over there, but it now feels as if all I do is spy on others posts rather than having the ability to be interactive.  I am recovering from training for and running a marathon 5 months ago, yesterday, to be exact. I gained plantar fasciitis  and tendonosis in my peroneal tendons, causing all kinds of heel pain. This pain is greatly reduced, although still mildly present. The orthopedic surgeon (no surgery if I can avoid it) said that it was all due to pes cavus, high arches. I’ve had about 3 and half months of PT, iontophoresis for the peroneal tendons, and orthotics made. I have hope but this has been a far longer journey to healing than expected (well, not the ortho – he is fairly sure we will end up in surgery – poo on that).

I was walking down the hallway at work the other day, heel burning a bit, and saw one of my coworkers who has a significant limp  walking  out to get a client. I thought to myself “I do not want to spend the rest of my life  hurting and limping. This will not happen to me.” I readjusted my step and pain went away. I’m recognizing the psychological connection to my injury. The strength of the body requires strength of the mind.

I’ve done upper body weights and cardio workout this morning, thank you daily burn, and now on to the bike trainer. Tomorrow I run.

4 thoughts on “Recovery and switch to WordPress

Leave a Reply

