Beautiful but tough ride 

I went down to Skagit Valley thinking this will be great: gorgeous views of the mountains (this is Mt Baker behind the corn), flat, and very little traffic. I forgot about the winds:/  That was alright, and it was doable, until I got to that Hill pictured above; it was the 2nd heartbreak in a week. 

The first I’ll just say that I’m broken right now. I’m grateful to cycling as it helps me stay present in the moment. Then came this Hill and it broke me for the second time; Thankfully, only my ego is paying the price for this one. Yes, I had to walk 2/3rds of this Hill. The walk was just as bad as biking it, there is no shoulder and cars (not many but enough) are passing at 50 mph. I’m not sure if I’d have had a shoulder, room to wobble, if I could have gotten up it? Maybe if it hadn’t been the end of my 3rd 20 mile day in a row? The last factor was not feeling confident clipped in. All factors came into play, I’m sure. 

A goal, on the way to my larger goal, is to make that Hill my bitch.

PT this morning and Andrea says I can run a mile all at once. We talk and agree I’ll play around with a half mile up to a mile, with a walk equal to the run distance. I’m the one that shortened it to half miles (not to equal more than 1 mile running) due to my fear of back tracking progress. The PF really is doing much better, to the point of not being noticeable the past few days (keeping my chacos on and knocking on wood). Primary issue now is a burning peroneal tendon below the calcaneus. She’s said that is far easier to treat than the PF. She’s treating runners all day today…. Yay race season!
She’s also using me (our treatment episode) to write a paper on PF. She doesn’t see runners get better from PF not running…. So let’s play with it! 

Ps: I’m also doing a lot of foot, soleus, and gluteus strengthening exercises… Not just baby runs.

Leave a Reply

